Frequently asked questions from travellers

A unique maritime experience

The Vélomaritime® coastal cycle route covers nearly 1,500 km (932 miles) between Roscoff in Brittany and Bray-Dunes in the North, from English Channel, to the North Sea. It features some amazing sites to explore, among which are the Pink Granite Coast, the Mont-Saint-Michel, the D-Day landing beaches, the Étretat cliffs, the Bay of the Somme and the Opal Coast.

With rocky points, bays, dunes, cliffs, UNESCO World Heritage sites and more, The Vélomaritime® is a biking experience second to none. It is an ideal route for riders looking to get away from it all, ready for a challenge, or in search of a cultural experience with delicious food to boot.


Explore the top sites of The Vélomaritime®

A fully completed route

The Vélomaritime cycle route has been fully completed since June 2021. Some sections are provisional, pending improvement work.
Main characteristics of the Vélomaritime cycle route

  • from Roscoff to Mont-Saint-Michel: country roads mostly, with some steep sections
  • from Mont-Saint-Michel to Cherbourg: green ways mostly, predominantly flat
  • from Cherbourg to Tréport: country roads mostly, with some steep gradients and provisional sections (an alternative green way along the Lin cycle route is available between Fécamp and Dieppe)
  • from Tréport to Berck: country roads mostly, with some cycle paths, flat
  • from Berck to Bray-Dunes: country roads mostly, with some steep gradients and provisional sections.

Under a European project, the Roscoff to Cherbourg cycle route was devised. From this originated the “Tour de Manche” around the French and English coasts of the Channel (continue the  cycle route in England).

Some numbers

📅 2021 – the route was officially opened

🚲 A 1,500 km route running from the English Channel to the North Sea

️ 🗺️ A route crossing through 3 French regions and 9 departments

💯 100% signposted all along

🇪🇺 A European cycle route: the Vélomaritime is the French section of the EuroVelo 4 route

🔗 7 cycle routes linked up to it, including three EuroVelo routes and four national cycle routes